Unsure insurance ensurance

This article is purposefully written in English and that might be one of the reasons it is not going to be very long...

Just two days ago I read that Barack Obama (or rather, he, his advisors and Democrat friends) passed a health care reform, which supposedly makes it easier for many US citizens to get a health insurance. Having been over there and having seen a lot of funny crooked-teeth faces I only agree with that reform. Although I know, crooked teeth aren't life-threatening;) Of course, "health care for everybody" is not cheap, but the following chart from the English Wikipedia clearly shows that not ensuring insurance doesn't make it cheaper:

(the bar on top, that's the US)

Now I'm not going to write about the Pros and Cons of the American health system, as I already find the German one difficult enough. There are LOTS of things that I am pretty annoyed of:
  • having to pay 10€ every quarter year when going to the doctor (which I as a female have to at least twice a year)
  • even worse: having to pay 10€ when going to an emergency doctor (last year I paid 30€ in three days - Sat, Sun, Mon - because the first doc wasn't able to diagnose me right)
  • insurance fees that are officially based on income, except if you're a student aged 25+, a freelancer with low income,... then you pay more!
  • some (financial) bonus programs that are supposed to keep me healthy but don't accept regular biking as physical activity
  • and so on...
As I understand it, health care must be financed solidarily, e.g. the one who earns more pays more... but the letter I received three weeks ago from my insurance company "IKK Gesundheit" didn't quite agree with that. I was asked to pay an extra fee of 8€ each month - just like every other policy holder at the IKK. Given that I am a student whose regular monthly contribution is 53,40€, that's a rise of more than 10%. Plus the 10€ every half year. Plus the co-payment for medication. Plus. Plus. Plus.

On the other hand, as mentioned earlier, my insurance company sticks with the bonus program, paying for yoga classes, Qi Gong and all that kinky stuff I don't have the time for. But then - do I need that? Wouldn't it be better to cover the basic treatments rather than making me pay other people's hobbies? I know, I know - with the tiny share I pay, nobody goes to any Yoga class, but anyway... I wouldn't want to pay it even if I was a lot richer. I just don't see the sense of everything being institutionalized, especially motion. In the end, we'll all drive cars to the gym to "get our cash back" from the health care and never see a bike in "real life". That sounds familiar to some, doesn't it?

Anyhow, I transfered to another company that doesn't raise extra fees and promised not to do so within the next 8 months. What comes then? Nothing's ensured...

Aktuelle Beiträge

Ge*ä*ndert.
Lang, lang, ja wirklich laaaaaaaang ist es her, seit...
MuTZelchen - 29. Mär, 14:56
RECODE - Selten ein gutes...
RECODE - Selten ein gutes Zeichen, wenn man von Software...
waldwuffel (Gast) - 23. Mär, 20:49
RECODE.
Vor ein paar Monaten wachte ich nachts um drei auf...
MuTZelchen - 16. Nov, 17:44
Der Artikel gefällt mir...
Der Artikel gefällt mir sehr gut. Ich weiß nicht, ob...
deprifrei-leben - 4. Mär, 23:13
Danke für den Artikel....
Danke für den Artikel. Er trifft m.E. so manchen Nagel...
Waldwuffel (Gast) - 4. Mär, 22:04

Suche

 

Status

Online seit 6094 Tagen
Zuletzt aktualisiert: 29. Mär, 15:03

Credits


Dresden
Fahrrad & Rikscha
Kurioses & Erkenntnisse
Leben
Lesen, Sehen und Hören
Mathematik
Meta
Poesiealbum
Postkartenaktion
Reisen
Schweden
Weihnachtslyrik
Profil
Abmelden
Weblog abonnieren